For Today Vocalist Readies Solo Album

Mattie Montgomery is best known as the vocalist for Facedown Records hardcore band For Today, but in the next month or so he will be releasing a solo spoken word collection of sermons and messages. The effort is entitled When The Sons Become Fathers, and Mattie was nice enough to let us have a sneak peak at the album artwork and tracklisting in advance.

Here is what Mattie Montgomery has to say about When The Sons Become Fathers:

God established something in the spiritual realm that would resound throughout all generations, and would change everything forever when he promised Abraham, “Through you, all the nations of the earth will be blessed” (Genesis 12:3). God also said to Abraham, “As for me, this is my covenant with you: You will be the father of many nations” (Genesis 17:4). Now, this covenant that God made with Abraham is one that has been made with all of Abraham’s offspring as well; that being, the Jewish people, firstly, then everyone that has come to know God since and through the coming of Christ.

As a modern church, we are a people that hold firmly to John 1:12, as it says “Yet, to all that receive him, to those that believe in His name, He gave the right to become children of God.” As wonderful and truly glorious as it is to stand on our rights and our inheritance as God’s children, that is not all we have been commissioned to do.

I have a dream of a new generation of believer who will truly press into our inheritance of holiness, who will contend to approach God as sons and daughters, and establish a real relationship with the King of Glory. I believe that, when this happens, God will impress it upon our hearts to become “Fathers of nations”; leaders, revolutionaries, and visionaries. And as this shift comes, we will see the nations of the earth gripped and shaken under the weight and presence of Almighty God.

We talk of Revival….

We talk of a Great Awakening…

We talk of Reformation…

We talk of Revolution…

These will come to pass, When The Sons Become Fathers.

“The harvest is plentiful, but the laborers are few.” I have been given a grace speak into the lives of a generation, and to do so with influence and authority to unleash revelation of the Glory of the Uncreated One. So, I released this album in hopes of encouraging my generation–my brothers and sisters, my family–toward their destiny as laborers for the sake of the Kingdom of Heaven. I believe that we are the generation that will usher in the second coming of Christ, but I also believe that it will take a radical, electrified movement of young people whose words, actions and prayers are energized by the Holy Spirit through true, passionate connection to the Creator God.

Arise as the face of a new revolution in spiritual authority! Declare freedom for the captives! Awaken a generation to see the face of the Living God!

Mattie Montgomery when sons become fathers
1. Joshua Generation
2. Restless
3. Vision
4. The Cycle
5. You Are Worth It
6. House of Mirrors
7. Connected
8. Prayer


  1. Brock May says:

    I made the CD artwork haha, kinda wished I slapped my logo all sneaky like on a billboard or something in the city.

Speak Your Mind