Pop-Punk,Emo,Pop Rock

Buy this artist on: iTunes, Amazon

Philmont began in 2005 when singer Scott Taube and guitarist Josiah Prince connected after the breakup of their former local outfits. From the start, this new union was marked by equal parts fun and serious commitment to the task at hand.There were long drives home from college every weekend to rehearse, self-booked summer tours to support an ambitious independent release, and then, soon after bassist Justin Sams joined in 2007, a hard-earned gig at alternative Christian music’s ultimate event, the Cornerstone Festival. Taube recalls, “The challenge at Cornerstone is to stand out—bands are everywhere—so we plastered all the Port-O-Johns with 11 x 17 Philmont flyers and got up early every day to make sure they hadn’t been covered up. Then we walked around with a CD player and earphone splitters, giving free bracelets to kids if they’d listen to one of our songs and inviting them to the show.”

Since the release of their debut album Attention (Forefront Records, 2009), Philmont has been hard at work expanding their ministry, their performance, and their fan base. With an extensive amount of touring under their belts (including two trips to Europe in 2009), the guys have connected with audiences on a global scale, a connection that is further enhanced by their everyday online interactions with fans - Philmont takes full advantage of social networking sites like Facebook, Twitter, Myspace, and iLike to continue relationships with those who are affected by their music. Since forming in 2005, the band has felt called to write music that inspires others to grow in their faith; primary songwriters Scott Taube (vocals) and Josiah Prince (guitar/keys/vocals) focus on creating songs that balance fun and energetic music with thought-provoking lyrics and important spiritual messages. This inventive dynamic can be heard throughout Attention, including tracks like “The Difference”, “I Can’t Stand to Fall”, “Back Down”, and “Where to Start”.

Recently, the band moved Justin Sams from bass to rhythm guitar, allowing Taube to focus solely on singing; this lineup change culminated in the addition of Josh Guion (bass) and Jeremi Hough (drums). Now, as a 5-piece for the first time, Philmont has stepped up their game for live shows, and has been building a strong arsenal of new songs, including the newly recorded radio single “You Will Remain”.

Listen to Philmont Here


Album Title Year Label
Take Cover EP2006Independent
Photosynthetic EP2007Independent
Oh Snap EP2008Forefront Records
Attention2009Forefront Records
The Transition EP2010Independent




North Carolina

United States

Record Label:


Christian Label:


Years Active: