Hard Rock,Glam,Classic Rock

Buy this artist on: iTunes, Amazon

Stryper, originally known as Roxx Regime, was formed in Orange County, California by brothers Michael Sweet and Robert Sweet and guitarist Oz Fox.

Stryper stands for "Salvation Through Redemption Yielding Peace, Encouragement and Righteousness". The Isaiah 53:5 under their logo is the bible verse that states "by His stripes we are healed". The band earned their stripes on the Los Angeles metal club circuit and in 1984, after recruiting bass player Tim Gaines, signed with Enigma Records and released their debut mini-album, The Yellow And Black Attack.

Stryper's first full-length release, Soldiers Under Command , sold over half a million units worldwide in the eighties, and stayed on Billboard's Top 200 album chart for over forty weeks. In addition to the hard-rocking tunes that Stryper's core audience has come to expect, the ballad "Honestly" from their platinum selling 1986 release To Hell With The Devil hit the Top-40 charts. The video for "Honestly" rapidly became the number one most-requested video on MTV. In 1988, Stryper released the near-platinum In God We Trust, as well as renewed success on M-TV, which was bombarded by thousands of phone requests for "Always There For You".

Coming off the acclaim of the 1989 tour supporting In God We Trust, Stryper released Against The Law which shipped gold in the fall of 1990. Despite its sales success, some fans were confused by Stryper's change in appearance and lyrics. This lead to numerous rumors and questions about the sincerity of Stryper's faith. "We were making a grab for musical freedom," says Robert Sweet, Stryper's drummer. "But we never should have let that been misinterpreted as a change in our beliefs."

In 1991, Enigma Records went bankrupt, and Stryper was left without a record company. This was short-lived, as they were quickly picked up by Hollywood Records. In the summer of 1991 they released Can't Stop The Rock, a "best of" album with two new tracks.

In January of 1992, Michael Sweet left Stryper to pursue a solo career. Although Robert Sweet, Oz Fox and Tim Gaines continued as a three piece for another year, there were no further studio recordings as Stryper, once Mike Sweet left.

On May 21st of 2000, history was made when Stryper hit the stage again for an informal jam at the first annual Stryper expo in New Jersey. December 16th of 2000 marked the first full blown set performed by Stryper in 9 years, held in Costa Rica. The second annual Stryper expo was held in Azusa, California on May 18th and 19th of 2001. The two day expo featured multiple bands and vendors, with Stryper closing the expo with a concert. Shortly after, Stryper played to one of their largest crowds at Cornerstone in Bushnell, Illinois on July 7th, 2001.  Stryper was back.

On March 25th of 2003, Hollywood Records released Seven, The Best Of Stryper that included 2 new songs ("Something" and "For You"). That fall, Stryper embarked on a 35 city tour that both fans and critics agreed was one of the hottest tours of 2003. In March of 2004, Stryper triumphantly returned to Puerto Rico to play a sold out show that was recorded for an upcoming DVD release.

The prayers of Stryper fan everywhere were answered in May of 2004 with the live CD recording titled 7 Weeks: Live In America. The CD was released on Stryper's new label; Fifty Three Five Records.

It was announced on March 30, 2005 that Stryper have signed a multi-album deal with Big3 Records. At the same time, Tracy Ferrie was named as their newest member. Stryper gave birth to their 9th release, Reborn, on August 16, 2005. For the next few years, Stryper toured throughout the US as well as Spain, Sweden, Norway, and Brazil.

The Puerto Rico show from 2004 became the first ever Stryper DVD, which was released via in September 2006. In April 2007 it was re-packaged with bonus material for retail sale. founder Brett Christensen worked with the band to release their early demos in July of 2007. The Roxx Regime Demos, debuted on 7-07-07.

Exactly 25 years after their ground breaking release of the The Yellow And Black Attack, Murder By Pride was released on July 21, 2009.

Stryper’s latest album, Murder by Pride, was released in 2009. The band supported the album with a year-long 25th Anniversary World Tour which took them throughout North America, South America, Europe and Australia.

Following the success of their 25th Anniversary World Tour earlier this year, Stryper headed into the studio to work on  The Covering. The Covering, produced by Michael Sweet, is unlike any previous Stryper recording, in that it’s a collection of cover songs from bands that inspired them and helped to shape their sound and musical identity, including past hits from Judas Priest, Iron Maiden, Led Zeppelin, Kansas and many others.

One of the highlights for Stryper fans is that The Covering is the first studio album in nearly two decades on which all four original members, plus longtime keyboardist Charles Foley, have recorded together.

Listen to Christian Music Rockers Stryper


Album Title Year Label
Yellow & Black Attack1984Enigma Records
Soldiers Under Command1985Enigma Records
To Hell With the Devil1986Enigma Records
In God We Trust1988Enigma Records
Against the Law1990Enigma Records
Can't Stop The Rock: The Stryper Collection 1984-19911991Hollywood Records
7: The Best of Stryper2003Hollywood Records
7 Weeks Live in America2004Fifty Three Five Records
Reborn2005Fifty Three Five Records
The Roxx Regime Demos2007Fifty Three Five Records
Murder By Pride2009Fifty Three Five Records
The Covering2010Fifty Three Records



Orange County


United States

Record Label:

Fifty Three Records

Christian Label:


Years Active: