The Rocketboys


Indie,Progressive,Atmospheric Rock

Buy this artist on: iTunes, Amazon

The Rocketboys (originally called Homer Hiccolm & The Rocketboys), having spent the first years of their career in the unassuming town of Abilene, created an anthemic, ambient sound that matched the expansive landscape in which they lived.

Comprised of five guys who met in college, The Rocketboys formed in late 2005 and, over the next three years, somehow found time to record and release two E.P.s and two live DVDs, embark on multiple national and regional tours, and amass a substantial fan base in their home state of Texas, all while finishing their degrees.

Residing now in Austin, The Rocketboys continue to improve their signature sound, described by The Austin American-Statesman as showing “a mastery of mood and subtlety” and complimenting singer Brandon Kinder’s soaring melodies with “clear, ringing guitars and full-bodied keyboard arrangements, hard-driving drum lines and well-practiced transitions between calm and controlled chaos."

Their debut full-length album, 20,000 Ghosts, was engineered by Louie Lino (Nada Surf, Matt Pond PA). Describing the new album, guitarist Daniel Wheeler said, “20,000 Ghosts displays a new range of diversity and maturity in our music, while maintaining the pop-sensibility that fans have come to love. We try to find the balance between a light, drum-driven brand of indie rock and darker, more atmospheric sounds coupled with lyrics and melodies you can’t get out of your head.”

On 20,000 Ghosts and Wellwisher EP, The Rocketboys perfectly married themes of unity and brotherhood with rich, soaring rock, lifting the band to national critical acclaim. The band supported its releases with lengthy tours and multiple festival appearances. Almost inevitably though the rigors of the road took their toll, eventually rupturing the band's momentum in the winter of 2010-11. Three members of the sextet of college friends from Abilene, Texas left to focus on other endeavors, and the split nearly ended the band.

The resulting hiatus did have its upside, allowing front-man Brandon Kinder a window both to release a solo EP (under the name The Wealthy West) and to pen the theme song for The Discovery Channel's new hit show "Bering Sea Gold." However, in the end, the three remaining members (Kinder, keyboardist Justin Wiseman, and bassist Josh Campbell) agreed they weren't at peace letting their collaborative venture cease to exist.

The initial hurdles of rebuilding, though difficult and disheartening, began to give way to new-found inspiration. Though the song-writing process drastically changed as a result of the reduced lineup, with less proverbial "cooks in the kitchen,” a more broad, dynamic range of ideas and visions than ever fermented and flourished. The end result was 2012's Build Anyway, chronicling the emotions through the brokenness in abandonment to the search for peace and closure, both personally and musically.

Listen to The Rocketboys Here



Album Title Year Label
South Plains EP2005Independent
Live In Levelland2006a Silence Production
Sing, Bird, Sing2007Murkville Music
Live At Antone's2008Independent
20,000 Ghosts2009Independent
Build Anyway 2012Independent
Build Anyway2012Independent





United States

Record Label:


Christian Label:


Years Active: